Push Up Bras for Children??

cookies, forever
Image by woodleywonderworks via Flickr

My journalism degree means I am a news person.  I like to see what is happening in the world and in our country.  As I’m watching one of my favorite news programs, they start showing this clip about bikinis for children with Push-Up Bras!

We have already taken childhood away from our children by exposing them to sexualized television commercials, now a company is trying to sell swimsuits to children with something they don’t need.

The picture above is little girls selling Girl Scout cookies and most are Brownies, in grades 1st, 2nd and 3rd. One of the young girls above is  Junior with the green sash.   This is the age the company is targeting.

I must admit, I have never understood, why we need to push children into doing things they are not ready for, but selling them clothing that is saying that they are not okay with their bodies has gone too far especially in the 2nd or 3rd grade.

As a lifetime Girl Scout member, I have devoted a large part of my life to leading troops, training leaders and sharing the out-of-doors with children.  They do not need to have a large manufacturer of clothing telling them when they are 10 or 11 that they need a Push-Up Bra! Yes, the clothing line has now changed their tune and says it is more appropriate for a 12-year-old?  “Really!”

These are children developing into young women, and no one knows what their final body look will be yet.  Why even design something like this?

I hope this company catches so much flak, that they pull the line.  Most parents will know not to buy this junk, but what if a child has an allowance and is shopping with friends?

Let’s allow our children to be children as long as possible!  Adulthood arrives way too soon for some when they are teenagers with early pregnancy, we do not need to stoke the fires with more sexual notes to our children.

I as parent will not cave to such outlandish foolery, I respect the fact that children need to be children and enjoy their childhood.

Leave a comment