New Year, New Goals,New Resolutions?

2014 new years

2014 new years (Photo credit: DatarkNZ)

2014 is moving into our reality in a few hours, and many of us are looking at the new year with new goals and new resolutions.

Lose weight, Get Fit, Stop Smoking, Stop Drinking, Call Family More often. Tell Friends I care about them. Whatever your goals or resolutions are. Write them down.

Make a list and copy it and mail them to yourself. Yes, put them in an envelope and send them to a friend and ask them to put the envelope in the mail to you in 6 weeks. This is a good way to test if you are still doing what you set out to do.

Whatever your goals are, you can tell after  6 weeks if you are still doing them.  A few years ago, I set out to start drinking more water. I have actually kept that promise to myself and have stopped  drinking as much diet coke as I was drinking. I have a special scale that tells me that I have a higher water composition now. One of my goals.

Of course, I still need to lose more weight, I think many of us have that on our list, but I have eaten healthier.I stay away from fried foods, and only now and then will I sneak a french fry.  Yes it is hard, but I know that I must do it. I do walk around the sweets as well, another goal.

I am not always faithful to my resolutions, but if I mess up, I don’t give up. I just say to myself, I’m human, and I get back on the goal. Perseverance wins the race.

Leave a Reply

